Friday, 20 February 2015

Papaws Building

Somerset Community College North, Meece Hall

Dear Fiona Quinn:

My precious love, when I took Mimzi to work this morning the temperature was seventeen degrees below zero.  Because I am unable to walk unaided, I was not able to report to work, myself.  After I dropped Mimzi off at work, I returned home and did some reading in our nice comfy reading chair in the den.  Currently, I am reading John Paul the Great: Remembering a Spiritual Father by Peggy Noonan.  It is a wonderful book and I should finish it on Saturday evening.  It is packed with such wonderful reflections on God that I am reading it very slowly so that I will not miss anything in this wonderful gem of a book.

sleepy baby

Nap time always follows bottle time.

At 1:00 PM, I picked up Mimzi and her friend Mary Ann Ryan and we all went to Mill Springs Pizza for lunch.  We got our Friday usual fare and it was delicious, as always.  Following our lunch hour, I took Mimzi to look for a Fred Thrasher print to be given to her boss, Superintendent Boyd Randolph, who lost his father to a heart attack.  She is looking for a winter farm scene because Mr. Randolph’s father was a farmer.  I then returned Mimzi to work and I drove Mary Ann to the Dollar General Store for some items she needed.  She has been stuck in the house since Sunday because of the snow.

We did not get home until 6:30 because Mimzi had some work that still needed doing, but just as soon as we got home I had you in my arms feeding you a bottle of formula.  You were a little squirmy but it was because you were sleepy in addition to being hungry.  Wonderfully, you played with Papaw until your mother got in from work at 12:45 AM.  I so enjoyed our evening together!

You are the apple of my eye,
Papaw

Leave a Reply

